ibiza, island facts at a glance
All about Ibiza  

ibiza, island facts at a glance

Ibiza, island facts at a glance

The official name of Ibiza, in Catalan, is Eivissa.
The official languages spoken are Catalan and Castilian, but the island natives speak their own Catalan dialect: Eivissenc.

Ibiza - Demographic

The island of Ibiza counted 142.065 inhabitants  in 2016, and official statistics showed that 27% of the population of Ibiza consists of foreigners with the Argentine and Moroccan population  respectively as the largest groups, both counting 3841. Followed by Romania with 3578, and the British with 2,671 full-time residents living on the island. The total number of EU nationals in Ibiza is 16,822.
In Ibiza officially registered inhabitants are smoothly living together with varying number of 'unofficial islanders' of various nationalities, and annually the official population continues to increase.

Ibiza belongs to the Autonomous Community of the Balearic Islands (Catalan: Illes Balears - Spanish: Islas Baleares) composed of the larger islands Mallorca (approximately 1,144,396 inhabitants), Menorca (declining number in 2016, approximately 91.601 inhabitants), and Formentera (growing number in 2016, approximately 12,124 inhabitants), the smaller islands Cabrera, Dragonera and S'Espalmador and numerous small uninhabited rocky islets, with a total number of 67 municipalities under the supervision of the joint capital of Palma, in Mallorca.

Ibiza - Administrative

The island council, or "Consell d'Eivissa ', directs the island of Ibiza, under the final responsibility of Palma, the capital of the Balearic Islands.
The island of Ibiza has five municipalities (catalan: ajuntaments - spanish: ayuntamientos) each with its own board and city hall.

The Municipality of Eivissa - Ibiza Town 'Ciutat d'Eivissa or Vila(d'Eivissa), with an area of just 4,301 m▓, both city and community, is divided into two parts, the old upper town Dalt Vila, built on a low hill at the seaside, was later extended by the district called Eixample. With 49.549 inhabitants, this is the most populated area of the island.


The Municipality of Sant Antoni de Portmany (San Antonio) covers an area of 127 km▓, and includes the villages of Sant Antoni de Portmany, San Rafael de Sa Creu, Sant Mateu d'Albarca, Buscatell and Santa Agnes de Corona, with a joint population of 21.852.



The Municipality of  Sant Joan de Labritja of San Juan Bautista (San Juan) covers an area of 121 km▓, is situated in the northern part of the island and includes the villages Cala de Portinatx Cala de Sant Vicent, Sant Miquel de Balansat and Port de Sant Miquel, Sant Joan de Labritja, Sant Llorenš de BalÓfia and Sant Vicent de sa Cala, with a joint population of 5.500.


The largest Municipality Sant Josep de sa Talaia (San Jose) covers an area of 154 km▓, is located in the south-eastern part of the island and includes the villages of Es Cubells, Sant AgustÝ d'es VedrÓ, Sant Francesc de s'Estany, Sant Jordi de ses Salines, Sant Josep de sa Talaia and Cala de Bou, with a joint population of 25.849.



The Municipality of Santa Eularia des Riu (Santa Eulalia) covers an area of 153.58 km▓, is situated in the eastern part of the island and includes the villages of Es Canar, (Nostra Senyora de) Jes˙s, Puig d'en Valls, Sant Carles de Peralta, Santa Eulalia del Rio and Santa Gertrudis de Fruitera, with a joint population of 31.314.


Ibiza 4 all, All about Ibiza | All Ibiza facts at a glance with corresponding island information.
ę 2006 - 2019 ibiza4all.org